Facebook twitter

Home > World Titles >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2014/10/18

1930s1946 - 19731973 - 2010

(picture of Lagarde here)
Karloff Lagarde

National Wrestling Association ( 1930 - 1960s? )
National Wrestling Alliance ( 1952 - 2010 )

Barney McFadenn 1894/01/29 St. Louis, MO, USA
Defeats Max Luttbeg (may be for the American title).
Herbert Hale 1895/08/31<
Samuel Murbarger 1899<
Harvey Parker 1901/06<
Alexander Swanson 1903/12/03 New York, NY, USA
Still champion as of 05/06/27.
Harvey Parker [2] 1906/08/11<
Joe Turner 1907
Loses to Walter Miller on 16/01/24 in Billings, MT (see below).

Tom Rolowitz 1905
Walter Evans 1912/02/12

Charles Conkle 1909<
Otto Suter 1909/05/14 Cleveland, OH, USA
Chris Jordan 1912/02/02 Battle Creek, MI, USA
Otto Suter [2] 1912/11<
Walter Miller 1912/11/19 Duluth, MN, USA
Also defeats Joe Turner on 16/01/24 in Billings, MT.
Otto Suter [3] 1916/04/24<
Paul Prehn 1916/04/28 Mason City, IA, USA
Otto Suter [4] 1916/06/02 Mason City, IA, USA

George Kaiser 1911/04<

George Roumas 1911/09/18<

Fred Beell 1911/12/07<
Recognized in Wisconsin.

Johnny Billiter 1913/04/30<
Billy Schober 1913/12<
Still/again champion as of 15/09.

Pete Buzukos 1915/08/10<
Recognized in Texas, Arizona, California, etc.; still/again champion as of 17/03/31.

George Bothner 1916/12<

Johnny Meyers 1917/06/07<
Recognized in Indiana.

Young Hackenschmidt (Neil Olsen) 1918/03/14 New York, NY, USA
Defeats Louis Nelson.

Louis Nelson 1919/03/14<  
Recognized in N. Adams, MA.

Jack Reynolds 1917/05/08<
Also defeats title claimant Louis Nelson in 20 (according to the 38/12/22 edition of Abilene Reporter News).
Tommy Record 1925/03/05 Indianapolis, IN, USA
Jack Reynolds [2] 1925/03/18 Columbus, OH, USA
Matty Matsuda 1925/06<
Bobby Roscoe 1925/06/24 Columbus, OH, USA
Jack Reynolds [3] 1925/08/13 Columbus, OH, USA
Bert Willard 1927/08/17 Columbus, OH, USA
Jack Reynolds [4] 1927/09/07 Columbus, OH, USA
Bobby Chick 1928/03 Louisville, KY, USA
Jack Reynolds [5] 1928/05/23 Columbus, OH, USA
Defeats Robin Reed, who has been claiming the title since 26/03, on 29/01/01 in Columbus, OH; recognized by National Boxing Association in 30 after defeating Charlie Grip; vacates on 30/03/22.
Jack Reynolds [6] 1930/04/12
Reinstated by NBA president Stanley Isaacs on 30/04/12; Earl McCann defeats Reynolds on 33/02/17 in Cincinnati, OH, but the decisions is reversed after the match; Reynolds defeats McCann on 33/07/06 in Cincinnati, OH.
Lord Lansdowne 1935/01/31 San Francisco, CA, USA
Probably a local version as Reynolds is recognized as champion at the NBA & NWA joint annual convention on 35/09/17.
Jack Reynolds [7] 1935/11/18 Hollywood, CA, USA
Regains from Lansdowne; loses to Jack Domar in 37 (sometime before 37/03/19) in Toledo, OH but Domar later gives up the title being over weight limit; loses to Emil Barbola on 37/05/26 in Menasha, WI but continues to be recognized in other cities; vacates upon retirement in 37 (New York Times, 45/01/10); still listed as champion by NWA on 38/09/15; NWA title is listed as vacant as of 40/09 (The Evening Independent, 40/09/10).
Scotty Williams 1938/04/23<
Wins vacant title; or defeats Reynolds for the title (Madison Wisconsin State Journal, 39/01/20); also defeats Emil Barbola for the recognition in northern Wisconsin (Appleton Post Crescent, 39/01/31); still recognized as of 40/07/23.

Gus Kallio 1921/10/03 Cedar Rapids, IA
Defeats Jack Reynolds (Abilene Reporter News, 38/12/22) and claims the title until 27/01 ; moves up to the junior middleweight division.

Leroy Andrews 1928/05/16<  
Recognized in Massachussets.

Robin Reed 1932/01/14<
Wins tournament.
Henry Jones 1932/07/20 Salem, OR, USA
Recognized in California; also claims to have defeated Jack Reynolds in Ohio in 37; recognized in Utah as Intermountain champion after 34.

Sammy Stein 1941/05/15<
Recognized in California.

Billy Weidner 1944/07/28<
May be recognized by MWA in Ohio.

El Santo 1946/03/15 Mexico City, MEX
Defeats Pete Pancof.
Jack O'Brien 1947/02/15 Mexico City, MEX
Gory Guerrero 1949/04/29 Mexico City, MEX
Bobby Bonales 1951/07/11 MEX
Recognized by the National Wrestling Alliance after 52/09.

* See NWA World Welterweight Title

Other Existing World Welterweight Titles