Wrestling-Titles.com Facebook twitter MySpace

Home > World Titles >

symbols ] country codes ]

Last updated on 2014/05/30


(Tarzan Lopez)
Gus Kallio

National Wrestling Association ( 1930 - 1940s? )
Empresa Mexicana de Lucha Libre ( 1930s - )
National Wrestling Alliance/EMLL ( 1952? - )

[ 日本語 ]

Edwin Bibby 1886/07/04 Cincinnati, OH
Defeats James Faulkner, billed as English champion, to become the World Catch-as-Catch-Can champion.
Dan McLeod 1889/01/17 Cleveland, OH
Defeats Ed Atherton; still/again champion as of 1902/09/12.
Ed Atherton 1902/10/14<
Fred Barth 1903/02/18 Kittaning, PA
Frank Lewis 1903
Ed Atherton [2] 1904/01<
Walter Willoughby 1904/01/18 Buffalo, NY
Ed Atherton * 1909/04<
Walter Willoughby * 1909/04/12 Milwaukee, WI
Henry Gehring 1910/12/28 Cleveland, OH
Has been claiming the title since 09/04/28, defeating Charlie Conkle in Cleveland, OH; defeats Chris Jordan on 10/03/15 in Cleveland, OH; defeats Willoughby on 10/12/28 to become the strongest claimant.
Mike Yokel 1913/02/05 Salt Lake City, UT
Also defeats Police Gazette title claimant Joe Turner in 13; Turner still claims the title until losing it in 16 to Paul Bowser, who defends title for 6 years before abandoning it.
Chris Jordan 1913/07/25 Salt Lake City, UT
Mike Yokel [2] 1913/10/27 Salt Lake City, UT
Elmer "Pet" Brown 1914/05/08 Taylor, TX
Walter Miller 1916/04/24 Billings, MT
Brown still claims the title as of 16/11/24; also defeats a claimant Ted Thye on 17/05/01 in San Francisco, CA.
Ted Thye 1919/06/04 Portland, OR
Walter Miller [2] 1921/05/27 Los Angeles, CA
Also defeats Pinky Gardner on 21/12/01 in Los Angeles, CA (see below); still/again champion in 24; no longer champion as of 26/08.

Sam Anderson 1911/02/27<
Joe Turner 1911/03/24 Washington, DC
Holds Police Gazette belt.
Joe Grant 1911/05/15 Washington, DC
Joe Turner [2] 1912/03/31<
Jack Jordan 1913/04/23 Waverly, NY
Joe Turner [3] 1913/09/04 Washington, DC
Also wins a tournament in 16 in Richmond, VA and another tournament in 22 in New York, NY; loses to other claimants such as Mike Yokel (13/03/19 Salt Lake City, UT and 19/03/28 Boston, MA), Pet Brown (15/03/02 Houston, TX), Henry Irslinger (17/01/22 and 17/11/06 Atlantic City, NJ), Paul Bowser (15/03 Newark, OH), Waino Ketonen (19/05/22 Boston, MA), and Charles Rentrop (22/09/04 Little Rock, AR) over the years but continues to be recognized as champion mainly in the east coast; still/again champion as of 23/11/30.

Waino Ketonen 1915/03/09 Duluth, MN
Defeats Mike Yokel and claims the title.
Mike Yokel 1918/03/18<
Sometime after 17/01/19; also defeats Pinky Gardner on 18/04/11 in Boston, MA; also defeats Joe Turner on 19/03/28 in Boston, MA.
Waino Ketonen [2] 1919/04/05<
Also defeats Joe Turner on 19/05/22 in Boston, MA.
Mike Yokel [2] 1920/02/26 Boston, MA
Waino Ketonen [3] 1920/06/19<
Also defeats title claimant Charles Rentrop in Houston, TX on 21/01/15.
Pinky Gardner 1921/02/27 Boston, MA
Loses to Walter Miller on 21/12/01 in Los Angeles, CA (see above).

Jack Harbertson 1915/10/21<
Recognized in Utah; still champion as of 18/04/01.
Ira Dern 1919/10 Boston, MA *
Recognized in Utah as having defeated Waino Ketonen; also defeats Pinky Gardner on 21/11/23 in Salt Lake City, UT; still champion as of 25/03/28; no longer champion as of 26/05 after moving up to the light heavyweight division.

Johnny Meyers 1918/05/08<
Joe Parelli 1924/03/25 Milwaukee, WI
Len Talaber 1924/09/23 Salt Lake City, UT
Johnny Meyers [2] 1925/04/15 Chicago, IL
Vacates on 28/06/28 for not being able to make the 160lb weight limit.
Jimmy Demetral 1928/08/13 Madison, WI
Defeats title claimant Ralph Parquat; loses to Gus Kallio on 29/05/20 in Battle Creek, MI but continues to claim the title.
Charlie Fischer 1929/08/15 Madison, WI
Johnny Meyers may continue to claim the title but has lost to Fischer on 29/01/07 in Chicago, IL; Illinois State Athletic Commission, however, recognizes Gus Kallio, who has defeated Fischer in Chicago on 28/08/07 (see below); Fischer continues to claim the title through 37.

Lou Talaber 1919/01/22<
Recognized in Gary, IN.

Chris Jordan 1920/01/08<
Ralph Parquat 1921/07/12<
Chris Jordan [2] 1921/09/22 Cedar Rapids, IA
Loses to Johnny Meyers on 23/12/11 in Chicago, IL but continues to claim title; still/again champion as of 24/05/03 and 26/05/12.

Gus Kallio 1928/08/07 Chicago, IL
Defeats Charlie Fischer by decision after a 2 1/2 hour match and is recognized by Illinois Athletic Commission.
Hugh Nichols 1929/03/08 Cincinnati, OH
Vacant when Nichols moves up to light heavyweight division in 30; Gallio continues to claim the title and defeats another claimant Jimmy Demetral on 29/05/20 in Battle Creek, MI.
Gus Kallio [2] 1930/04/09 Columbus, OH
Wins tournament to be recognized by the National Boxing Association after defeating Ralph Parquat in semi-final on 30/03/21 in Cincinnati, OH and Ray Carpenter in final on 30/04/09 in Columbus, OH.
George Sauer 1930/06/20 San Antonio, TX
Wins as the Masked Marvel.
Gus Kallio [3] 1930/10/03 San Antonio, TX
Recognized at the NWA meeting on 31/10/01; George Romanoff is billed as champion in Florida as of 34/10/02; Kallio is again recognized at the NBA & NWA joint annual convention on 35/09/17.
Joe Gunther 1934/12
Gus Kallio [4] 1935/02<
Joe Gunther [2] 1935/05/07
Gus Kallio [5] 1935/06/14
Joe Gunther [3] 1937/01 Portland, OR
Gus Kallio [6] 1937/02/15<
Octavio Gaona 1939/02/19 Mexico City
Tarzan Lopez (Carlos Lopez) 1940/02/04 Mexico City
Black Guzman 1941/12/16 Mexico City
Tarzan Lopez [2] 1942/02/11 Mexico City
Gory Guerrero 1946/02/23 Mexico City
Mike Kelly 1948/04/12 Mexico City
Tarzan Lopez [3] 1949/05/28
Sugi Sito 1950/09/21
Enrique Llanes 1951/09/24 Mexico City
Vacates on 52/02/06.
Tarzan Lopez [4] 1952/07/13
Wins tournament.

* See NWA World Middleweight Title

Other Existing World Middleweight Titles

This web site exists to provide the information on professional wrestling and is neither affiliated nor endorsed by any pro-wrestling organization. Logos are registered trademarks of respective organizations. Credits for information on this site are given to these sites/people.

Copyright © 2003-2014 puroresu.com. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy

Site hosted by Arisu Communications.