Facebook twitter

Home > N. America > United States > Ohio >

symbols ] country codes ]

Last updated on 2016/06/18

World Middleweight Title

Edwin Bibby 1886/07/04 Cincinnati, OH
Defeats James Faulkner, billed as English champion, to become the World Catch-as-Catch-Can champion.
Dan McLeod 1889/01/17 Cleveland, OH
Defeats Ed Atherton; still/again champion as of 1902/09/12.
Ed Atherton 1902/10/14<
Fred Barth 1903/02/18 Kittaning, PA
Frank Lewis 1903
Clarence Bouldin 1905/05/31<  
Fred Beell 1907/12/10 Cleveland, OH
Henry Gehring 1909/04/28 Cleveland, OH
Defeats Charles Conkle; also defeats Chris Jordan on 10/03/15 in Cleveland, OH and Walter Willoughby on 10/12/28 in Cleveland, OH; loses to Mike Yokel on 13/02/05 in Salt Lake City, UT.
Joe Turner 1915/05/21<  
Paul Bowser 1916/03/10 Newark, OH
Still champion as of 20/05/12; said to vacate the title "after 6 years".
Chris Jordan 1924/04/30<  
Still champion as of 24/12/05.
Gus Kallio 1928/08/07 Chicago, IL
Defeats Charlie Fischer by decision after a 2 1/2 hour match and is recognized by Illinois Athletic Commission.
Hugh Nichols 1929/02/08 Cincinnati, OH
Vacant when Nichols moves up to light heavyweight division in 30; Gallio continues to claim the title and defeats another claimant Jimmy Demetral on 29/05/20 in Battle Creek, MI.
Gus Kallio [2] 1930/04/09 Columbus, OH
Wins tournament to be recognized by the National Boxing Association after defeating Ralph Parcaut in semi-final on 30/03/21 in Cincinnati, OH and Ray Carpenter in final on 30/04/09 in Columbus, OH.

* See NWA World Middleweight Title.