Facebook twitter

Home > World Titles >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2018/02/14


(picture of Mildred here)
Mildred Burke

National Wrestling Alliance ( 1950 - 1984 )
World Wrestling Federation ( 1984 - 1990 )

Josie Wahlford 1890s  
Known as the first women's champion; Alice Williams also claims the title probably around the same time.
Laura Bennett 1900s  
Hazel Parker claims the title around 1906 in Chicago, IL.
Mary Harris 1907  
Cora Livingstone 1908/01  
Mary Harris [2] 1908/11/01<  
Billed as champion in Boston, MA on this day.
Cora Livingstone [2] 1909/01/04<  
Billed as champion in Boston, MA on this day.
Laura Bennett [2] 1909  
In Russia, Masha Poddubnaya claims the title six times before 10.
Cora Livingstone [3] 1910/10 Kansas City , MO, USA
Fanny Lewis 1914/04/07<  
Sometime between 14/03/29 and 14/04/04.
Cora Livingstone [4] 1914/11/29<  
Retires in 25.
Betty Bushey 1931/03/23<
Has wrestled Livingstone "to a draw" and starts claiming the title after Livingstone retires (Amarillo Daily News, 33/01/19); recognized in Iowa, Nevada, Utah, and West Texas; still champion as of 33/06/16 in Spencer, IA and 35/11/08 in Salt Lake City, UT.

Virginia Mercereau 1927/06/13 Evansville, IN, USA
Defeats Teddy Meyers.

Ruby Allen 1931/04<
Claims the world welterweight title; billed as the "claimant of the 145-pound title" as of 34/03 in Spokane, WA.
Teddy Moran 1938/08/25 Washington, DC, USA
Ruby Allen [2] 1938/08/25 Washington, DC, USA
Immediate rematch.

Clara Mortenson 1932 Topeka, KS, USA *
Claims to have won the title from Barbara Ware.
Mildred Burke 1937/01/28 Chattanooga, TN, USA
Clara Mortenson [2] 1937/02/11 Chattanooga, TN, USA
Fast count by the referee in the third fall.
Mildred Burke [2] 1937/04/19 Charleston, WV, USA
Local paper initially reports Mortenson's victory but issues a correction two days later; Mortenson continues to claim the World Lightweight Title in the western states, mainly California and Arizona, until her retirement in 52.
Betty Nichols 1938/11/18 Columbus, OH, USA
Mildred Burke [3] 1938/12/01 Columbus, OH, USA
Officially recognized by NWA between 50 and 53; founds the World Women's Wrestling Association in California in early 50s with herself as WWWA World champion.

* See WWWA World Title.

June Byers 1953/04/14 Baltimore, MD, USA
Defeats Nell Stewart in a 10-woman world championship tournament final; wrestles Burke on 54/08/20 in Atlanta, GA, but the commission stops the match, strips Burke of the title, and awards it to Byers; Burke continues to defend WWWA World Title until her retirement in 56; Daisy Mae is also billed as champion in Charleston, WV around 56/02; claim title until her retirement in 64/01.

Penny Banner 1961/08/26 Angola, IN, USA
Defeats Theresa Theis in tournament final to be recognized by American Wrestling Alliance when NWA champion Byers no-shows the scheduled title defense against Banner; vacant in 64; Byers also continues to claim her title until her retirement in 64/01.

Jennetta Collins # 1956/08/27<  
Billed as champion in Baltimore, MD.
Slave Girl Moolah/Fabulous Moolah 1956/09/18 Baltimore, MD, USA
Defeats Judy Grable in the final of a tournemant in which Collins also participates; billed as NWA champion by some member promoters after June Byers retires in 64; Penny Banner also continues to claim her title until 64.
Betty Boucher # 1966/09  
Possibly for a local recognition only; Moolah is billed as the champion for her match against Boucher on 66/09/17 in Seattle, WA but Boucher is billed as the champion and retains the title against Judy Grable on 66/09/27 in Seattle, WA (Seattle Daily Times); Boucher also retains Judy Grable on 66/10/04 in Chilliwack, BC (The Chilliwack Progress).
Fabulous Moolah # 1966/10  
Yukiko Tomoe 1968/03/10 Osaka, JPN
Fabulous Moolah [2] 1968/04/02 Hamamatsu, JPN
Billed as IWWA champion in Japan in 68/11 and loses the title to Chiyo Obata on 69/10/05 in Tokyo; Moolah continues to hold her title outside Japan.
Susan Green * 1976 Dallas, TX, USA
Fabulous Moolah * 1976 TX, USA
Evelyn Stevens 1978/10/08 Dallas, TX, USA
Fabulous Moolah [3] 1978/10/10 Ft. Worth, TX, USA
WWF withdraws from NWA in 83 and buys the right of the women's world titles from Moolah in 84; Moolah is recognized exclusively as a WWF champion; NWA World Title is reinstated in 87.
Wendi Richter 1984/07/23 New York, NY, USA
Leilani Kai 1985/02/18 New York, NY, USA
Wendi Richter [2] 1985/03/31 New York, NY, USA
Fabulous Moolah [4] 1985/11/25 New York, NY, USA
Wins title as masked Spider Lady, unmasks after the match.
Velvet McIntyre 1986/07/03 Brisbane, AUS
Fabulous Moolah [5] 1986/07/09 Sydney, AUS
Sherri Martel 1987/07/24 Houston, TX, USA
Rockin' Robin 1988/10/07 Paris, FRA
Title retired in 90; WWF World Title is reinstated in 93.

Other World Titles