Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-1993 > N. America > United States > U.S. Heavyweight Title > Illinois / Wisconsin > NWA >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2017/08/07

NWA United States Heavyweight Title


* Also known as the United States Television Title.

Verne Gagne1953/09/03Chicago, IL
Wilbur Snyder1956/04/07Chicago, IL
Hans Schmidt 1956/09/15Chicago, IL
Wilbur Snyder [2] 1957/02/19Chicago, IL
Dick the Bruiser defeats Snyder on 57/06/01 Chicago, IL, but Snyder continues to be recognized as champion (non-title?).
Dick the Bruiser 1957/12/13Chicago, IL
Verne Gagne [2] 1958/04/11Chicago, IL
Wilbur Snyder [3]1958/11/15 Omaha, NE
Also for the recognition of the Omaha version of the world title; Gagne continues to be recognized in Minneapolis.
Angelo Poffo1958/12/27Cincinnati, OH
Wilbur Snyder [4] 1959/05/02 Detroit, MI
Dick the Bruiser [2] 1959/05/23 Detroit, MI
Recognition withdrawn when Chicago promoter Fred Kohler and Detroit promoter Jim Barnett split in 60/01; Bruiser continues to be recognized as champion by American Wrestling Alliance in Detroit.
Buddy Rogers 1960/04/20<
May have defeated Johnny Valentine in tournament final in Chicago, IL; vacant when Rogers wins World Title on 61/06/30.
Angelo Poffo #1962/03/28<
Recognized in western Michigan; "first defense" on 62/04/10 in Holland, MI; still recognized as champion in Benton Harbor, MI as of 62/04/11.
Larry Chene 1962/12/23<
Promotion leaves NWA in 63/02 and becomes IWA.

* See IWA United States Heavyweight Title.