Facebook twitter

Home > N. America > United States > California > South >

symbols ] country codes ]

Last updated on 2017/12/14

World Light Heavyweight Title
[Los Angeles]

Jack Donovan (Jack Dodd) 1906
Holds the title "for seven years prior to 1913" according to Evening Tribune (San Diego, CA) on 18/04/26, or between 06 and 14 according to the same paper on 18/05/24.
Dan McLeod 1912/10/04 Los Angeles, CA
Defeats Donovan who may continue to claim the title until 13 or 14 (see above).
Pleasant Smith 1913/12/30 Imperial, CA
Still/again champion as of 15/08/18.
Ad Santel 1916/03<  
Billed as champion in San Diego, CA as of 16/03/27 and in Bakersfield, CA as of 21/08/12; Pete Sauer defeats claimant Clarence Eklund on 22/10/09 in Santa Paula, CA but loses to Ted Thye on 23/01/24 in Portland, OR.
Clarence Eklund [2] 1928/11/20 Melbourne, AUS
Wins tournament to become the undisputed champion, defeating Ted Thye in the final and Ad Santel in earlier round; declared vacant by the National Wrestling Association when Eklund declines invitation to participate in tournament in 30.
Hugh Nichols1930/04/04Cincinnati, OH
Defeats Joe Banaski in NBA World Light Heavyweight Wrestling Championship tournament final; Frank Wolf defeats Nichols in 33/03 in Dallas, TX; NBA claims Nichols was fouled and continues to recognize him as champion although they do sanction the rematch in 33/07 in Oklahoma City, OK, where Nichols defeats Wolf.
Leroy McGuirk1934/03/05Tulsa, OK
Ted Christy defeats McGuirk on 36/01/13 in Hollywood, CA in what is most likely a non-title match; newspapers prior to the match has no mention of the match being for the title; The Los Angeles Times reports it as a title change on 36/01/14 but McGuirk continues to be billed as champion in the area afterwards.
Bobby Chick1936/12Tulsa, OK
Hugh Nichols [2] 1937/04/28Oklahoma City, OK
Red Berry1937/05/31Tulsa, OK
Danny McShain1937/10/11Hollywood, CA
Leroy McGuirk [2]1938/05/16Tulsa, OK
Danny McShain defeats McGuirk on 38/10/18 in Little Rock, AR by winning one fall in two hours and is recognized by NWA; McGuirk disputes the decision and continues to claim the title in Califonia.
Paul Orth 1938/11/14 Hollywood, CA
Jesse James 1939/02/07 Hollywood, CA
Defeats McShain by DQ in the third fall on 39/03/06 in Hollywood, CA, but McShain continues to be recognized by NWA because the title cannot change hands by DQ; James continues to be recognized as champion in California while McShain is recognized by NWA.
Karl Gray1939/06/12Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [2] 1939/07  
"Recently" (The Los Angeles Times, 39/07/25); "two weeks ago" (The Los Angeles Times, 39/08/06); most likely billed as champion because of Gray's absense on the 39/07/25 card in Hollywood, CA.
Karl Gray [2]1939/08/07Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [3]1939/08/28Hollywood, CA
Jesse James [2] 1939/09/25Hollywood, CA
Marshall Carter 1939/10/11 Bakersfield, CA
Jesse James [3] 1939/10/18 Bakersfield, CA
Bob Gregory1939/12/11Hollywood, CA
Jesse James [4]1940/01/08Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [3]1940/01/15Hollywood, CA
Unified with NWA Title.
Jesse James [5] 1940/03/13 Tulsa, OK
Red Berry [4] 1940/09/02 Hollywood, CA
Paavo Ketonen 1941/08/04 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [4] 1941/08/25 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [5] 1941/09/01 Hollywood, CA
Billy Varga 1941/12/01 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [6] 1941/12/22 Hollywood, CA
Billy Raborn 1942/08/24 Tulsa, OK
Billy Varga [2] 1943/03/22 Hollywood, CA
Gorilla Ramos 1943/04/26 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [7] 1943/10/11 Hollywood, CA
Gray Mask 1943/12/27 Hollywood, CA
Gorilla Ramos [2] 1944/03/13 Hollywood, CA
Gray Mask [2] 1944/03/27 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [8] 1944/04/24 Hollywood, CA
Dick Trout 1944/12/11 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [5] 1945/01/22 Hollywood, CA
Dick Trout [2] 1945/03/26 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [6] 1945/04/16 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [9] 1945/09/10 Hollywood, CA
Ernie Piluso 1946/01/14 Hollywood, CA
Martino Angelo (Angelo Curto) 1946/08/19 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [7] 1946/09/16 Hollywood, CA
Martino Angelo [2] 1946/09/23 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [8] 1947/05/05 Hollywood, CA
Repeated on 47/05/19 in Phoenix, CA (or Angelo regains the title sometime in between).
Dick Trout [3] 1947/07/23 Bakersfield, CA
Danny McShain [9] 1947/08/06 Bakersfield, CA
Red Berry [8] 1947/09/02 San Diego, CA
McShain may regain the title on 47/09/13 in Visalia, CA.
Jan Blears 1947/09/15 Phoenix, AZ
May be vacant in California in 48/03.
Jackie Nichols 1948/03/15 Phoenix, AZ
Duke Keomuka 1948/05/24 Phoenix, AZ
Still champion as of 48/06/07; Nichols is still/again billed as champion in Bakersfield, CA as of 48/06/02.

* See NWA World Light Heavyweight Title.