Facebook twitter

Home > NBA/NWA >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2017/12/14

National Wrestling Association
World Light Heavyweight Title

* Wrestling title of the National Boxing Association until 1930/10.

Hugh Nichols 1930/04/04 Cincinnati, OH
Defeats Joe Banaski in NBA World Light Heavyweight Wrestling Championship tournament final; Frank Wolf defeats Nichols on 33/03/08 in Dallas, TX; NBA claims Nichols was fouled and continues to recognize him as champion although they do sanction the rematch on 33/06/07 in Oklahoma City, OK, where Nichols defeats Wolf.
Leroy McGuirk 1934/03/05 Tulsa, OK
Bobby Chick 1936/12/14 Tulsa, OK
Hugh Nichols [2] 1937/04/28 Oklahoma City, OK
Red Berry 1937/05/31 Tulsa, OK
Danny McShain 1937/10/11 Hollywood, CA
Leroy McGuirk [2] 1938/05/16 Tulsa, OK
Danny McShain [2] 1938/10/18 Little Rock, AR
Wins one fall in two hours and listed as champion by NWA president Col. Harry Landry on 38/10/26; McGuirk disputes the decision and continues to claim the title in California; McShain defeats McGuirk to end the dispute on 38/12/05 in Hollywood, CA; Jesse James defeats McShain by DQ in the third fall on 39/03/06 in Hollywood, CA, but McShain continues to be recognized by NWA because the title cannot change hands by DQ while James is recognized as champion in California; McShain defeats James on 40/01/15 in Hollywood, CA to end the dispute.
Jesse James 1940/03/13 Tulsa, OK
Red Berry [2] 1940/09/02 Hollywood, CA
Paavo Ketonen 1941/08/04 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [3] 1941/08/25 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [3] 1941/09/01 Hollywood, CA
Billy Varga 1941/12/01 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [4] 1941/12/22 Hollywood, CA
Paavo Ketonen # 1942/05/18 Tulsa, OK
Wins by DQ for a local recognition.
Red Berry # 1942/06/01 Tulsa, OK
Billy Raborn 1942/08/24 Tulsa, OK
Billy Varga [2] 1943/03/22 Hollywood, CA
Gorilla Ramos 1943/04/26 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [5] 1943/10/11 Hollywood, CA
Gray Mask 1943/12/27 Hollywood, CA
Gorilla Ramos [2] 1944/03/13 Hollywood, CA
Gray Mask [2] 1944/03/27 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [6] 1944/04/24 Hollywood, CA
Dick Trout 1944/12/11 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [4] 1945/01/22 Hollywood, CA
Dick Trout [2] 1945/03/26 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [5] 1945/04/16 Hollywood, CA
Red Berry [7] 1945/09/10 Hollywood, CA
Ernie Piluso 1946/01/14 Hollywood, CA
Martino Angelo (Angelo Curto) 1946/08/19 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [6] 1946/09/16 Hollywood, CA
Martino Angelo [2] 1946/09/23 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [7] 1947/01/27 Hollywood, CA
Martino Angelo [3] 1947/02/10 Hollywood, CA
Danny McShain [8] 1947/05/05 Hollywood, CA
Repeated on 47/05/19 in Phoenix, CA (or Angelo regains the title sometime in between).
Dick Trout 1947/07/23 Bakersfield, CA
Danny McShain [9] 1947/08/06 Bakersfield, CA
Red Berry [8] 1947/09/02 San Diego, CA
McShain may regain the title on 47/09/13 in Visalia, CA.
Jan Blears 1947/09/15 Phoenix, AZ
Billy Goelz is billed as NWA champion in Illinois.
Jackie Nichols 1948/03/15 Phoenix, AZ
Duke Keomuka 1948/05/24 Phoenix, AZ
Still champion as of 48/06/07; Nichols is still billed as champion in Bakersfield, CA as of 48/06/02.

Jack Curtis # 1948/06/18<  
Holds Louisiana version of the world title, billed as National Wrestling Association champion in Louisiana as late as 49/01/10.

Vacant as of 50/02/24.
Andy Tremaine 1950/04/18 El Paso, TX
Defeats Monte LaDue; declines the offer to wrestle National Wrestling Alliance champion in a unification match and retires as champion in 52.
Frank Stojack 1953/08/10 Spokane, WA
Defeats National Wrestling Alliance champion Gypsy Joe and is also recognized by the National Wrestling Association; stripped in 58 for inactivity; Stojack retires in the same year.
Moe Smith # 1958/10/29 Carson City, NV
Defeats Luigi Macera in the final of a tournament which has initially been considered for the NWA(Alliance) recognition but is rejected by the time it takes place; NWA gives the control of the title to EMLL; Smith continues to claim the title in Reno, NV as well as Idaho and Utah at least until 62/11/14.
Dory Dixon 1959/02/13 Mexico City, MEX
Defeats Al Kashey, contender appointed by the National Wrestling Association, to be recognized by the National Wrestling Alliance, with presidents from both organizations in attendance.
Rey Mendoza 1959/11/29 Guadalajara, Jalisco, MEX
Gory Guerrero 1960/07/30 Mexico City, MEX
National Wrestling Association continues to recognize the National Wrestling Alliance Title at least until the early 60s.

* See National Wrestling Alliance World Light Heavyweight Title.