Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-1993 > N. America > United States > Texas > West > NWA >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2016/09/15

NWA Southwest States Tag Team Title
[W. Texas]

Dory Funk & Frankie Hill Murdock 1952/02/21 Amarillo, TX
Defeat Leo Wallick & Tony Morelli in rematch of tournament final to become the first champions after initial match on 52/01/31 ends as no contest.
Tony Morelli & Dizzy Davis 1952/03/06 Amarillo, TX
Tony Morelli & Alex Kasaboski 1952/04  
Morelli chooses Kasaboski when Davis pulls out of the team.
Tony Morelli & Benito Gardini 1952/06  
Morelli chooses Gardini after Kasaboski passes away in 52/06; still champions as of 52/07/22.
Dory Funk & Cowboy Carlson 1952/08/03<  
Billed in Amarillo, TX as having "recently" defeated Morelli & Gardini in Albuquerque, NM, where they are billed as having won a tournament in Amarillo, TX.
Tommy Martindale & Cyclone Anaya 1953/09/07 Abilene, TX
Vacant in 53/09 when Anaya is injured.
Jack Curtis & George Curtis 1953/10/01 Amarillo, TX
Defeat Ivan Kalmikoff & Ace Abbot in tournament final.
Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Krauser 1953/11/26 Amarillo, TX
Jack Curtis & George Curtis [2] 1953/12/11 Borger, TX
Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Krauser [2] 1953/12/17 Amarillo, TX
Roy Shire & Bobby Wallace 1954/02/24 Lubbock, TX
Johnny Demchuk & Bob Cummings 1954/05/28 Borger, TX
Vacant in 54/09 due to Demchuk's injury.
Gory Guerrero & Pepper Gomez 1954/09/06 Abilene, TX
Defeat Doc Gallagher & Ace Abbott in tournament final.
Bob Geigel & Doc Gallagher 1954/10/20 Lubbock, TX
Jesse James & Johnny James 1954/11/10 Lubbock, TX
Bob Geigel & Eric Pederson 1954/12/13 Pampa, TX
Vacant in 55/01 when Pederson leaves the territory.
Bob Geigel & Boris Kameroff 1955/01/31 Abilene, TX
Defeat Jesse James & Johnny James in tournament final.
Dory Funk & Cowboy Carlson [2] 1955/03/31 Amarillo, TX
Vacant in 56/07 when Carlson leaves the area; tournament final between Chris Belkas & Rocky Columbo and Frank Murdoch & Jim Austeri on 55/07/21 ends as no contest.
Frank Murdoch & Jim Austeri 1955/08/28 Amarillo, TX
Defeat Chris Belkas & Rocky Columbo in tournament final rematch.
Bob Geigel & Mike Gallagher 1955/08/29 Abilene, TX
Dizzy Davis & Art Nelson 1955/10/10 Abilene, TX
Herb Parks & Ripper Leone 1956/01/09<

* Temporarily replaced with World Tag Team Title (often referred to as Southwestern Title).

Nelson Royal & The Viking (Bob Morse) 1962/03/23 Borger, TX
Defeat Dory Funk & Ricky Romero for Texas Title, also referred to as Southwest Title.
Dory Funk & Ricky Romero [2] 1962/05/10 Amarillo, TX
Gene Kiniski & Fritz Von Erich 1962/07/19 Amarillo, TX
Dory Funk & Ricky Romero [3] 1962/10/18 Amarillo, TX
Mike DiBiase & Fritz Von Erich 1963/02/16 El Paso, TX
Dory Funk & Ricky Romero [4] 1963/04/10 Lubbock, TX
Vacant in 63/07 when Romero is hospitalized.
Tokyo Tom (Ray Urbano?) & Sputnik Monroe 1963/07/02 Odessa, TX
Win tournament; recognized as North American Title in Greely, CO as of 63/09/09; vacant in 63/10 when the team splits; replaced with North American Title in Amarillo.
Dory Funk & Wahoo McDaniel 1964/06/15<
Billed as champions in Abilene, TX on this day.
Don Curtis & Billy Graham 1965/05<
Mike DiBiase & Ken Lucas 1965/05/05 El Paso, TX

* Replaced with North American Tag Team Title.

* Special thanks to Kriss from Amarillo Wrestling (facebook page).