Facebook twitter

Home > Japan > NJPW >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

(as of 2018/01/04)

Antonio Inoki 1987/06/12 Tokyo
Defeats Masa Saito in the final of '87 IWGP Tournament to be recognized as the first IWGP Heavyweight champion; vacant on 88/05/02 when Inoki breaks his foot.
Tatsumi Fujinami 1988/05/08 Tokyo
Defeats Big Van Vader; title held up on 88/05/27 after a no-contest match against Riki Choshu in Sendai.
Tatsumi Fujinami [2] 1988/06/24 Osaka
Wins rematch against Riki Choshu; vacates on 89/04/05 to raise the authority of the title, for which a one-night tournament at Tokyo Dome on 89/04/24 is held.
Big Van Vader 1989/04/24 Tokyo
Defeats Shin'ya Hashimoto in one-night 8-man tournament final with Lou Thesz as the special referee.
Salman Hashimikov 1989/05/25 Osaka
Riki Choshu 1989/07/12 Osaka
Big Van Vader [2] 1989/08/10 Tokyo
Riki Choshu [2] 1990/08/19 Tokyo
Tatsumi Fujinami [3] 1990/12/26 Hamamatsu
Big Van Vader [3] 1991/01/17 Yokohama
Tatsumi Fujinami [4] 1991/03/04 Hiroshima
Riki Choshu [3] 1992/01/04 Tokyo
Great Muta (Keiji Mutoh) 1992/08/16 Fukuoka
Shin'ya Hashimoto 1993/09/20 Nagoya
Tatsumi Fujinami [5] 1994/04/04 Hiroshima
Shin'ya Hashimoto [2] 1994/05/01 Fukuoka
Keiji Mutoh [2] 1995/05/03 Fukuoka
Nobuhiko Takada 1996/01/04 Tokyo
Shin'ya Hashimoto [3] 1996/04/29 Tokyo
Kensuke Sasaki 1997/08/31 Yokohama
Tatsumi Fujinami [6] 1998/04/04 Tokyo
Masahiro Chono 1998/08/08 Osaka
Vacant on 98/09/21 after suffering a neck injury on 98/09/19 in Nagoya.
Scott Norton 1998/09/23 Yokohama
Defeats Yuji Nagata.
Keiji Mutoh [3] 1999/01/04 Tokyo
Gen'ichiro Tenryu 1999/12/10 Osaka
Kensuke Sasaki [2] 2000/01/04 Tokyo
Vacates the title on 00/10/09 after losing a non-title match to Toshiaki Kawada.
Kensuke Sasaki [3] 2001/01/04 Tokyo
Defeats Toshiaki Kawada in 6-man one-night tournament final.
Scott Norton [2] 2001/03/17 Nagoya
Kazuyuki Fujita 2001/04/09 Tokyo
Vacates on 02/01/04 due to injury.
Tadao Yasuda 2002/02/16 Tokyo
Defeats Yuji Nagata in 7-man tournament final.
Yuji Nagata 2002/04/05 Tokyo
Yoshihiro Takayama 2003/05/02 Tokyo
Reigning NWF Heavyweight champion, wins double title match.
Hiroyoshi Tenzan 2003/11/03 Yokohama
NWF Heavyweight Title not on line.
Shinsuke Nakamura 2003/12/09 Osaka
Unifies NWF Heavyweight Title on 04/01/05 after defeating Yoshihiro Takayama on 04/01/04 in Tokyo; vacates on 04/02/05 due to the injury from a match on 03/12/31.
Hiroyoshi Tenzan [2] 2004/02/15 Tokyo
Defeats Gen'ichiro Tenryu in one-night 8-man tournament final.
Kensuke Sasaki [4] 2004/03/12 Tokyo
Bob Sapp 2004/03/28 Tokyo
Vacates on 04/06/01 after losing to Kazuyuki Fujita in an MMA match on 04/05/22 in Saitama.
Kazuyuki Fujita [2] 2004/06/05 Osaka
Defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi.
Kensuke Sasaki [5] 2004/10/09 Tokyo
Hiroyoshi Tenzan [3] 2004/12/12 Nagoya
Satoshi Kojima 2005/02/20 Tokyo
Has also won Triple Crown Heavyweight Title, defeating Toshiaki Kawada on 05/02/16 in Tokyo.
Hiroyoshi Tenzan [4] 2005/05/14 Tokyo
Triple Crown Title not on line.
Kazuyuki Fujita [3] 2005/07/18 Sapporo
Brock Lesnar 2005/10/08 Tokyo
Wins a 3-way match against Fujita and Masahiro Chono by pinning Chono and is awarded the third version of the belt; stripped on 06/07/15 when Lesnar does not come to Japan due to a contractual problem but refuses to return the belt.
Hiroshi Tanahashi 2006/07/17 Sapporo
Defeats Giant Bernard in 6-man tournament final and is awarded the second version of the belt.
Yuji Nagata [2] 2007/04/13 Osaka
Kurt Angle defeats Brock Lesnar at an Inoki Genome Federation card on 07/06/29 in Tokyo to win the physical possession of the third version of the champion belt without the authorization by New Japan, which continues to recognize Nagata as the champion.
Hiroshi Tanahashi [2] 2007/10/08 Tokyo
Shinsuke Nakamura [2] 2008/01/04 Tokyo
Defeats Kurt Angle on 08/02/17 in Tokyo to unify the third version of the championship belt.
Keiji Mutoh [4] 2008/04/27 Osaka
Hiroshi Tanahashi [3] 2009/01/04 Tokyo
Manabu Nakanishi 2009/05/06 Tokyo
Hiroshi Tanahashi [4] 2009/06/20 Osaka
Vacates on 09/08/17 due to his eye socket fractured.
Shinsuke Nakamura [3] 2009/09/27 Kobe
Defeats Togi Makabe.
Togi Makabe 2010/05/03 Fukuoka
Satoshi Kojima [2] 2010/10/11 Tokyo
Hiroshi Tanahashi [5] 2011/01/04 Tokyo
Kazuchika Okada 2012/02/12 Osaka
Hiroshi Tanahashi [6] 2012/06/16 Osaka
Kazuchika Okada [2] 2013/04/07 Tokyo
A.J. Styles 2014/05/03 Fukuoka
Hiroshi Tanahashi [7] 2014/10/13 Tokyo
A.J. Styles [2] 2015/02/11 Osaka
Kazuchika Okada [3] 2015/07/05 Osaka
Tetsuya Naito 2016/04/10 Tokyo
Kazuchika Okada [4] 2016/06/19 Osaka