Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-93 >

symbols ] country codes ]

National Wrestling Alliance
International Heavyweight Title

Lou Thesz 1957/11  
Awarded by the NWA; Houston NWA promoter Morris Sigel claims that Thesz has won the title by defeating Antonino Rocca in 49; Rikidozan defeats Thesz in a non-title match and claims the title in Japan; Thesz continues to be billed as champions in various territories in the US until regaining the World Title in 63/01.

Japan / Korea ( 1957 - 1989/04 )
Amarillo ( 1974 - 1981 )

Undisputed version after 1981
[All Japan]

Dory Funk Jr. 1981/04/30 Matsudo, JPN
Wins tournament when Bruiser Brody is injured and unable to wrestle in final; defeats Terry Funk for his first title defense instead.
Bruiser Brody 1981/10/09 Tokyo, JPN
Dory Funk Jr. [2] 1981/11/01 Tokyo, JPN
Bruiser Brody [2] 1982/04/21 Osaka, JPN
Funk continues to be billed as champion in Florida but loses to Butch Reed on 82/05/03 in W. Palm Beach, FL; Funk regains on 82/06/01 in Tampa, FL.
Jumbo Tsuruta 1983/08/31 Tokyo, JPN
Stan Hansen 1986/07/31 Tokyo, JPN
Jumbo Tsuruta [2] 1986/10/21 Tokyo, JPN
Bruiser Brody [3] 1988/03/27 Tokyo, JPN
Jumbo Tsuruta [3] 1988/04/19 Sendai, JPN
Unifies PWF and NWA United National titles, defeating Stan Hansen on 89/04/18 in Tokyo, to become the first unified Triple Crown Heavyweight Champion.

* See Triple Crown Heavyweight Title.