Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-93 > Japan > JWA / AJPW >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

NWA United National Heavyweight Title
Los Angeles ( 1970 - 1971 )
JWA ( 1971 - 1973/04/14 )
All Japan ( 1976 - 1989/04/18 )

Dale Lewis 1970/10< St. Louis, MO, USA *
Wins tournament.
Pantera Negra 1970/10/23 Los Angeles, CA, USA
John Tolos 1970/11/20 Los Angeles, CA, USA
Rey Mendoza 1970/12/04 Los Angeles, CA, USA
John Tolos [2] 1971/02
NWA rules Tolos is the victim of a fast count and returns the title to Tolos after Mendoza defends it for two months.
Antonio Inoki 1971/03/26 Los Angeles, CA, USA
Vacant when Inoki is expelled from JWA on 71/12/13.
King Krow 1972/01 Vancouver, BC, CAN *
Defeats Sailor Thomas in tournament final.
Seiji Sakaguchi 1972/02/11 Los Angeles, CA, USA
The Sheik 1972/09/06 Tokyo
Seiji Sakaguchi [2] 1972/09/07 Osaka
Johnny Valentine 1973/03/02 Yokohama
Akihisa Takachiho 1973/03/08 Sano, Tochigi
Vacant on 73/04/14 when JWA closes.
Jumbo Tsuruta 1976/08/28 Tokyo
Defeats the American representative Jack Brisco after defeating the last title holder Akihisa Takachiho to be the Japanese representative.
Billy Robinson 1977/03/05 Akita
Jumbo Tsuruta [2] 1977/03/23 Miami, FL, USA
Dick Murdoch 1980/02/23 Kagoshima
Jumbo Tsuruta [3] 1980/03/05 Kuroiso
Abdullah the Butcher 1980/10/13 Nagoya
Jumbo Tsuruta [4] 1981/01/22 Nirasaki
Harley Race 1982/08/01 Tokyo
Jumbo Tsuruta [5] 1982/10/24 Kitami
Vacates on 83/06/17 while on tour in Dallas, TX to concentrate on winning the International title from Bruiser Brody.
Ted DiBiase 1983/10/14 *
Wins 12-man tournament held across the US, winning the final by default over Jerry Lawler.
Michael Hayes 1984/01/28 Athens, GA, USA *
David Von Erich 1984/02/03 Dallas, TX, USA
Vacant on 84/02/10 when Von Erich dies before Japanese tour.
Gen'ichiro Tenryu 1984/02/23 Tokyo
Defeats Ricky Steamboat; vacant in 86/02 when Tenryu gives up the belt after being pinned by Yoshiaki Yatsu in a match for the International tag team title.
Gen'ichiro Tenryu [2] 1986/04/26 Ohmiya
Defeats Ted DiBiase; also wins PWF title from Stan Hansen on 88/03/09 in Yokohama.
Stan Hansen 1988/07/27 Nagano
Wins both PWF and UN titles.
Jumbo Tsuruta [6] 1989/04/18 Tokyo
Reigining International Heavyweight champion, defeats Hansen to unify PWF and UN titles to become the first unified Triple Crown Heavyweight Champion.

* See Triple Crown Heavyweight Title.