Facebook twitter

Home > New Zealand >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2017/08/03

New Zealand Heavyweight Title

Gisborne Katene 1919 Gisborne
Defeats Frank Findlay; vacant.
Mohomet Sunni 1922/08/15<  
Ike Robin 1925/03/16Auckland
Vacates in 26 upon retirement (sometime after 26/09).
Tom Alley1929
Loses to Stanley Pinto in tournament final on 31/11/23 in Wellington (see below).
George Walker 1931/11<
Vacates on 37/11/23 upon retirement.
Stanley Pinto 1931/11/23 Wellington
Defeats Tom Alley in tournament final; vacant in 32 when Pinto does not return for the season to defend the title.
Lofty Blomfield 1936/05/25<
Dean Detton 1938/08/22 Auckland
Lofty Blomfield [2] 1938/08/27 Auckland
Also defeats another claimant Pat Fraley on 38/09/10 in Auckland; wins tournament to become undisputed champion in 38/10; vacates on 49/06/07 upon retirement.
Ken Kenneth 1949/06/22  
Awarded; stripped in 58/06 after not defending the belt for over a year.
Dick Hrstich 1958/06/11 Christchurch
Defeats Fred Wright; vacant in 59/10 when Hrstich leaves the country and does not defent the title.
Keita Meretana 1959/10/03 Tauranga
Defeats Lofty Binnie.
Ken Kenneth [2] 1960/06 Auckland
Vacant in 60/10 when Kenneth leaves the country.
Steve Rickard 1963/11<  
Has claimed the title, defeats another claimant Peter Anderson (Peter Maivia) to end the dispute.
Peter Maivia 1964/08/03 Auckland

Siva Afi 1978/04/23 Auckland
Defeats John DaSilva in tournament final.
Steve Rickard [3] 1983  
Rip Morgan 1983/09/08 Auckland
Defeats Samoan Joe in tournament final.
Bruno Bekkar 1985/09<  
Wins tournament.
Johnny Garcia    
Bruno Bekkar [2] 1987/12/12 Auckland
Johnny Garcia [2] 1988/11/26  
Bruno Bekkar [3] 1990  
A.J. Freeley 1992/11/22  
Still/again holds the title as of 99/01.

* See also NZWPW New Zealand Heavyweight Title.