Introduction - Symbols
Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > Membership Rosters > 1949

ATTENTION: You may copy information from this site as long as you will give credits to this site and these people.

NWA Meetings
Columbus, OH
1949/11/26 - 27
St. Louis, MO

Official Members:
* = date admitted as a new member

Pinkie George (Des Moines) President & Founder
Al Haft (Columbus, OH) Vice President; championship committee
Sam Muchnick (St. Louis) secretary
Sam Avey (Tulsa) treasurer; championship committee * 49/09
George Simpson
Pearl Christy
(Kansas City) represented by Orville Brown
Tony Stecher (Minneapolis) championship committee
Max Clayton (Omaha)
Fred Kohler (Chicago)
Harry Light (Detroit)
Morris Sigel (Houston) * 49/09
Paul Bowser (Boston) championship committee * 49/11 (held up 50/05 - 52/11)
Johnny Doyle (Los Angeles) championship committee * 49/11
Joe Malcewicz (San Francisco) championship committee * 49/11
Frank Tunney (Toronto) championship committee * 49/11
Eddie Quinn (Montreal) championship committee * 49/11
Paul Jones (Atlanta) * 49/11
Hugh Nichols (Hollywood) * 49/11
Al Karasick (Honolulu) * 49/11 (removed 50/05 - 51/04)
Roland Meeker (Great Falls, MT) * 49/11 (removed 50/05)
Roy Welch (Dyersburg, TN) * 49/11
  • Bobby Bruns (Buffalo) and Karl Sarpolis (Dallas) were also appointed into the championship committee.
  • Col. Harry J. Landry (Friars Point, MS), the President of the National Wrestling Association, was also in attendance during the November meetings.

Listed as "planning to attend" prior to the convention (attendances not confirmed):

Bill Atkinson (Wichita)
Gust Karras (St. Joseph, MO)
Ross Leader (Cincinatti)
Jack Ganson (Cleveland)
Ed Don George (Buffalo)
Joe "Toots" Mondt (New York)
Leon Balkin (Evansville, IN)
Les Wolfe (Memphis)
Ed McLemore (Dallas)
Ted Thye (Portland, OR)