Facebook twitter

Home > World Titles >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2016/08/07

World Greco-Roman Heavyweight Title

Thiebaud Bauer 1875/12/11 New York, NY, USA
Defeats United States Graeco-Roman champion Andre Christol and is recognized as world champion.
Andre Christol 1875/12/29 New York, NY, USA
Thiebaud Bauer [2] 1876/08/29 Cincinnati, OH, USA
Defeats American Graeco-Roman champion William Miller in what is billed as world championship match.
William Muldoon 1880/01/19 New York, NY, USA
Announces his (temporary) retirement in 82/09.
Duncan C. Ross 1883/02/17 Jacksonville, FL, USA
Defeats Thiebaud Bauer.
Thiebaud Bauer [3] 1883/03/18 New Orleans, LA, USA
William Muldoon [2] 1883/12/29 New York, NY, USA
Vacates in 91 upon retirement.
Ernest Roeber 1891/02/09  
Awarded by Muldoon upon retirement (or 91/12/31; one source says Muldoon awards the title to Ernest Roeber in 87); also defeats French title claimant Apollon on 92/07/25 in New York, NY; also awarded the European Greco-Roman Title on 94/09/26 in Hamburg, GER; Evan "Strangler" Lewis defeats Roeber on 93/03/02 in New Orleans, LA in mixed-style match to become American Heavyweight champion.
Magnus Bech-Olsen 1900/03/21 New York, NY, USA
May be only for the European Greco-Roman Title.
Ernest Roeber [2] 1900/09/18 Copenhagen, DEN
Announces retirement on 01/11/22.
John Piening 1901/12/06 New York, NY, USA
Defeats Raoul de Cahors to become American Graeco-Roman champion; often billed as world chammioin.

Alex Aberg 1914/02<  
Stanislaus Zbyszko 1914/02/26 Boston, MA, USA
Alex Aberg [2] 1915/05/17<  
Still recognized in 16/01/29.

Henri DeGlane 1931/01/18<  
Billed as champion in Los Angeles, CA.

Hans Kampfer 1937/05/14<  
Billed as champion in Des Moines, IA.