Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-1993 > United States > Texas > West > NWA >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2014/04/10

NWA Southwest States Heavyweight Title
[W. Texas]

Sonny Myers 1956/05
Has won Southwest States Junior Heavyweight Title, defeating Dizzy Davis on 56/04/26 in Amarillo, TX; billed as Heavyweight Title after 56/05.
Bob Orton 1956/06/13Lubbock, TX
May be repeated in Abilene, TX on 56/06/18; Babe Zaharias substitutes for the injured Orton on 56/07/16 Abilene, TX and loses to Hans Schnabel; Orton is again billed as champion in Abilene as of 56/09/10.
Bob Geigel1956/09/19Lubbock, TX
Dizzy Davis1956/10/25Amarillo, TX
Dory Funk 1956/11/15Amarillo, TX
Great Bolo1957/02/14Amarillo, TX
Reigning North American Heavyweight champion, wins a double title match.
Dory Funk [2] 1957/02/28 Amarillo, TX
Wins both titles; vacant in 57 (most likely unified with North American Title except in Abilene where Southwest title is revived later in the year).
Art Nelson 1957/11/05 Abilene, TX
Defeats Vincent Lopez in a 12-man tournament final for the Southwest Heavyweight Title; not recognized outside Abilene.
Vincent Lopez 1957/11/12Abilene, TX
Bob Geigel [2] 1957/12/17 Abilene, TX
Still champion as of 58/07/15.
Thunderbolt Patterson 1968/06/24<
May not be recognized outside Ablilene, TX.
Lord Patrick Patterson 1968/08/27<
Defeats Terry Funk in a title match on previous day in Ablilene, TX (unclear who the champion has been).

* Replaced with North American Heavyweight Title.

* Special thanks to Kriss from Amarillo Wrestling Wiki.