Facebook twitter

Home > NWA > 1948-1993 > N. America > United States > Mississippi > Mississippi Heavyweight Title > Gulf Coast >

symbols ] country codes ]
[ 日本語 ]

Last updated on 2017/10/14

NWA Mississippi Heavyweight Title

[Gulf Coast]

Bobby Fields1958/07/03Hattiesburg, MS
Defeats Great Malenko in tournament final.
Mario Galento 1958/09/04 Hattiesburg, MS
Tom Drake 1958/09/09 Laurel, MS
Lee Fields 1958/11/04 Laurel, MS
Joe McCarthy 1959/12/30 Laurel, MS
Lee Fields [2] 1959/01/13 Laurel, MS
Wins in a boxing match; stripped after a match against Rocket Monroe on 59/02/10 in Laurel, MS for fighting outside the ring and using a folding chair to attack Monroe.
Pancho Villa 1959/03/31 Laurel, MS
Defeats Lee Fields in tournament final.
Lee Fields [3] 1959/04/14 Laurel, MS
John Smith 1959/05/19 Laurel, MS
Lee Fields [4] 1959/06/04Hattiesburg, MS
According to the 59/10/24 edition of Laurel Leader-Call, the title is declared vacant after a match between Lee Fieds and Mighty Yankee in Jackson, MS "several weeks ago."
Pancho Villa [2] 1959/11/24 Laurel, MS
Defeats Lee Fields in 8-man tournament final.
Lee Fields [5] 1959/12/15Laurel, MS
Joe McCarthy [2] 1960/02/23 Laurel, MS
Wins by default; stripped sometime between 60/03/03 and 60/03/19 for not accepting Al Galento's challenge.
Al Galento 1960/03/22Laurel, MS
Defeats Jack Curtis Jr.
Lee Fields [6] 1960/04/04 Laurel, MS
Pancho Villa [3] 1961/01/10 Laurel, MS
Stripped on 61/02/10 for failure to defend; title inactive.
Dick Dunn 1964/03/02 Laurel, MS
Defeats Bobby Fields in the one-night 10-man tournament final; still champion as of 64/04/25; title inactive.
Bobby Fields [2] 1968/04/01  
Billed as champion upon arrival; vacant in 68 (sometime after 68/06/05).
Bob Kelly 1968/09/05Hattiesburg, MS
Defeats Rocket Monroe in tournament final.
Rocket Monroe1968/10/21Laurel, MS
Bob Kelly [2]1968/12/21Laurel, MS
Mitsu Sito1969/04/17Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Boyer1969/05/14Laurel, MS
Rocket Monroe [2]1969/08/07Hattiesburg, MS
The Blue Yankee1969/08/28Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [3]1969/09/04Hattiesburg, MS
The Blue Yankee [2]1969/09/25Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [4]1970/01/26Laurel, MS
Mike Boyette1970/04/16Hattiesburg, MS
The Blue Yankee [3]1970/07/23Hattiesburg, MS
Bobby Whitlock1970/08/20Hattiesburg, MS
The Avenger1970/09/17Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [5]1970/09/21Laurel, MS
Rocket Monroe [3]1970/10/26Laurel, MS
Ken Lucas1970/11/26Hattiesburg, MS
Rocket Monroe [4]1970/12/10Hattiesburg, MS
Bobby Fields [3]1971/01/21Hattiesburg, MS
Forced to forfeit the title due to the stipulation when Fields fails to defeat Sam Bass in 5 minutes on 72/02/25 in Hattiesburg, MS.
Terry Garvin1971/03/18Hattiesburg, MS
Defeats Bob Kelly in tournament final.
Bob Kelly [6]1971/03/25Hattiesburg, MS
Eddie Sullivan1971/05/13Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [7]1971/06/10Hattiesburg, MS
Eddie Sullivan [2]1971/10/07Hattiesburg, MS
Ken Lucas [2]1971/11/11Hattiesburg, MS
Eddie Sullivan [3]1971/11/25Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [8]1972/01/24Laurel, MS
Donnie Fargo1972/02/14Laurel, MS
Bob Kelly [9]1972/03/16Hattiesburg, MS
The Spoiler1972/07/14Hattiesburg, MS
Arman Hussein1972/07/18Laurel, MS
Vacant for non-defense.
Gorgeous George Jr.1972/08/31Hattiesburg, MS
Wins battle royal.
The Spoiler [2]1972/09/14Hattiesburg, MS
Arman Hussein [2]1972/10/23Laurel, MS
The Mysterious Medic1972/11/16Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [10]1972/12/14Hattiesburg, MS
The Mysterious Medic [2]1973/01/18Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [11]1973/02/08Hattiesburg, MS
Wrestling Pro1973/04/12Hattiesburg, MS
Arman Hussein [3]1973/04/16Laurel, MS
Rocket Monroe [5]1973/06/14Hattiesburg, MS
Ken Lucas [3]1973/08/23Hattiesburg, MS
Norvell Austin1973/10/01Laurel, MS
Ken Lucas [4]1973/10/25Hattiesburg, MS
Duke Miller1973/12/13Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [12]1974/01/17Hattiesburg, MS
Wrestling Pro [2]1974/04/25Hattiesburg, MS
Vacant sometime between 74/06/24 and 74/06/28.
Jack Donovan 1974/08/05 Laurel, MS
Defeats Bob Kelly in 10-man tournament final.
Bob Kelly [13] 1974/10/21 Laurel, MS
Chris Colt1975/03/06Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [14] 1975/03/13Hattiesburg, MS
Rip Tyler1975/05/01Hattiesburg, MS
Big Bad John1975/05/09Meridian, MS
The Bounty Hunter #11975/05/22Hattiesburg, MS
John puts title in battle royal.
Bob Kelly [15]1975/08/28Hattiesburg, MS
Melvin Kimball1975/09/11Hattiesburg, MS
Bob Kelly [16]1975/09/25Hattiesburg, MS
Vacant on 75/12/18 when Kelly leaves the territory.
Duke Miller [2]1976/01/22Hattiesburg, MS
Defeats Eddie Sullivan in tournament final.
Bob Kelly [17]1976/05/06Hattiesburg, MS
Title held up on 76/06/24; tournament ordered.
Sweet Daddy Banks1976/07/01Hattiesburg, MS
Wins an 8-man tournament.
Bob Kelly [18]1976/07/15Hattiesburg, MS
Vacates on 76/09/03 upon retirement.

* Special thanks to Michael Norris for the information.