Facebook twitter

Home > MMA > United States > UFC >

symbols ] country codes ]

Ultimate Fighting Championship
World Heavyweight Title
[265lb/120kg limit]
(as of 2017/05/13)

Mark Coleman1997/02/07Dothan, AL
Defeats Dan Severn to become the first champion; unifies UFC Superfight Title.
Maurice Smith1997/07/27Birmingham, AL
Randy Couture1997/12/21Yokohama, JPN
Stripped in 98/01 upon leaving UFC due to a contract dispute.
Bas Rutten1999/05/07Birmingham, AL
Defeats Kevin Randleman; vacant in 99/06 when Rutten retires due to training injuries.
Kevin Randleman1999/11/19Tokyo, JPN
Defeats Pete Williams.
Randy Couture [2]2000/11/17Atlantic City, NJ
Josh Barnett2002/03/22Las Vegas, NV
Stripped on 02/07/26 after testing positive for anabolic steroids in a post-fight drug test.
Ricco Rodriguez2002/09/27Uncasville, CT
Defeats Randy Couture.
Tim Sylvia2003/02/28Atlantic City, NJ
Vacates in 03/09 after testing positive for anabolic steroids in a post-fight drug test.
Frank Mir2004/06/19Las Vegas, NV
Defeats Tim Sylvia; injured in a motorcycle accident on 04/09/17; Andrei Arlovski defeats Tim Sylvia on 05/02/05 in Las Vegas, NV for interim title; Mir is stripped in 05/08 after being unable to defend due to an injury.
Andrei Arlovski2005/08/12
Promoted to undisputed champion.
Tim Sylvia [2]2006/04/15Anaheim, CA
Randy Couture [3]2007/03/03Columbus, OH
On 07/10/11, Couture announces his departure from UFC but continues to be recognized as the champion; Antônio Rodrigo Nogueira defeats Tim Sylvia on 08/02/02 in Las Vegas, NV for an interim title; Frank Mir defeats Nogueira on 08/12/27 in Las Vegas, NV for interim title.
Brock Lesnar 2008/11/15 Las Vegas, NV
Defeats Courture (for an "interim" title according to the UFC Official Site as of 10/07/28; however, listed as a regular title on the DVD packages of UFC91 and UFC100); also defeats Frank Mir on 09/07/11 in Las Vegas, NV to become the undisputed champion; suffers mononucleosis later in the year; Shane Carwin defeats Frank Mir on 10/03/27 in Newark, NJ for an interim title; Lesnar defeats Carwin on 10/07/03 in Las Vegas, NV to become the undisputed champion.
Cain Velasquez 2010/10/23 Anaheim, CA
Junior dos Santos 2011/11/12 Anaheim, CA
Cain Velasquez [2] 2012/12/29 Las Vegas, NV
Fabrício Werdum defeats Mark Hunt on 14/11/15 in Mexico City, MEX for an interim title.
Fabrício Werdum 2015/06/13 Mexico City, MEX
Defeats Velasquez to become the undisputed champion.
Stipe Miocic 2016/05/14 Curitiba, BRA