Introduction - Symbols
Facebook twitter MySpace

Home > Wrestling History Message Forums

NWA and Vincent J. McMahon's split in 1963...

NWA and Vincent J. McMahon's split in 1963...

Postby bryce.a.lozier » 2010/08/13 Fri 10:52 am

I am just learning about pro wrestling history which took place before where my personal recollections kick in (the Attitude era of WWF and the Monday Night Wars). I have been studying the history of the WWE Championship, and I see that Buddy Rogers was awarded the first WWWF Heavyweight belt due to some sort of dispute over (to my understanding) Rogers dropping the NWA World Heavyweight belt to Lou Thesz on Jan. 24, 1963.

Is there any way someone can either elaborate on what is known about this event, or else redirect me to a site which has the details? Thank you all in advance.
bryce.a.lozier

Re: NWA and Vincent J. McMahon's split in 1963...

Postby Hisaharu Tanabe » 2010/08/17 Tue 7:46 pm

The dispute over the title change was just an explanation on paper.

Simply put, Vince Sr. wanted his own world champion for his territory which had grown strong enough to be independent from the NWA.

McMahon and Toots Mondt virtually monopolized Rogers, and many NWA member promoters, including then-NWA president Doc Sapolis of Amarillo, didn't get to book their world heavyweight champion. This caused problems within the NWA. Some promoters, including Sarpolis, Paul Jones (Atlanta), and Stu Hart (Calgary), recognized their own heavyweight champions. Some may have brought the AWA champ in for their territories. To bring the unity back to the NWA, the promoters agreed to ask Lou Thesz to be the champ once again.