Title changes in tag team turmoil matches?

Post Reply
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 2002/08/19 Mon 3:57 pm
Location: Calgary, AB

Title changes in tag team turmoil matches?

Post by Exit » 2005/05/06 Fri 12:03 pm

On the Backlash PPV, there was a Tag Team Turmoil match, which for those who don't know, is basically a Gauntlet match, where you beat one opponent and go on to face the next one immediately.

The champions, William Regal & Tajiri, beat their first opponents, then the second opponents but lost to the third opponents - La Resistance. La Resistance then went on to face Hurricane & Rosey and lost the match, thus Hurricane & Rosey were the new tag champions.

My question is though, do La Resistance get credited as being champions in there. When you think about it, it's just a series of matches and La Resistance legitimately beat Regal & Tajiri in a title match (how else could Hurricane & Rosey have won the titles if the champions weren't involved in the match?). Jerry Lawler himself said during commentary after La Resistance's win that he thinks La Resistance are now the tag champs; JR didn't acknowledge the comment. So do La Resistance have an extra title reign?

Dan Poutsma
Posts: 227
Joined: 2002/04/04 Thu 8:46 pm

Post by Dan Poutsma » 2005/05/06 Fri 5:29 pm

Unless they specifically stated that as part of the "rules", then no. Lawler was just playing his part.

Post Reply